Student Senate

End of the 65th session and issues with bylaws bill amendments

Maddie Kasper

More stories from Maddie Kasper


The last meeting of the 65th session of the Student Senate commenced at 6:18 p.m. on Monday.

The meeting began with executive board members overviewing legislation passed, the remaining events of the semester and their experiences in the 65th session in their reports.

President Jaden Mikoulinskii looked back on her year as student body president.

“This has been the most chaotic and rewarding experience of my life,” Mikoulinskii said. “If you want to be in a position where you learn and you grow more than you possibly ever thought you could in the span of one academic year, this is the job you need.”

Equity in Student Matters Senate Director Mengcha Moua said the commission has chosen Rosa Gómez as the new Equity in Student Matters student director.

Intergovernmental Affairs commission Director Bailey Carruthers said the Spring Dash & Bash will be cosponsored by the University Activities commission at 5:00 p.m. on Tuesday, May 3, at Garfield Avenue Terrace.

University Activities commission Director Brett Farmer said an open mic night will be held at 5:00 p.m. on Friday in The Cabin and Emm K and Horace Green will perform from 6:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m. on Saturday in The Cabin.

More information from individual reports can be found in the April 25 meeting minutes.

Student Office of Sustainability commission Director Maddie Loeffler reintroduced bill 65-B-17 to allocate additional funding for WELL Building Standard certification and a higher level of Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) certification in the Sonnentag Complex.

Loeffler said the additional $200,000 is a surplus from previous years earmarked for LEED and WELL certification from the Green Fund.

Moua said passing this bill would be actually practicing, not just advocating for, sustainability.

Bill 65-B-17 passed by a vote of 19-2-2.

Mikoulinskii introduced bill 65-B-18 to amend the senate bylaws. This bill had previously been introduced and then withdrawn by other authors to make additional changes.

“There needs to be a massive overhaul to make sure that this student senate body can function in an equitable, concise and sustainable manner,” Carruthers said.

Carruthers made a motion to call the question, a parliamentary procedure from Robert’s Rules of Order, in which debate of a bill will end and a vote will begin with two-thirds support from the senate body.

Two-thirds of the senate voted to end debate time for 65-B-18.

“These bylaw amendments should have been done their due diligence prior to this meeting to avoid confusion, anger and overall lack of knowledge of all the amendments being passed,” Carruthers said.

Senator Thomas Miller introduced a majority of the amendments to the bill, and he said he was furious when debate and the time for amendments ended.

“I still have over 38 amendments to make and I will be making them in the next session as soon as I possibly can,” Miller said. “All of the changes I have need to be made and the fact that it was called so early infuriates me.”

Bill 65-B-18 passed by a vote of 15-3-2.

Adler Kranich, senate parliamentarian and chair of the election committee, certified the 2022 election results.

All senators and members of commissions and committees of the 65th session resigned, except for members of the intergovernmental affairs commission and the Student Office of Sustainability commission.

Members of the executive board will remain in office until the next meeting when President-elect Gaitan and Vice President-elect Johnson will be sworn in and a new executive board is appointed.

Anakah Denison, Austin Lallak, Benjamin Myszka, Bradford Heap, Brenna Strojinc, Elianna Zimmerman, Elizabeth TenBarge, Hannah Kelly, Madelin Blong, Quinn Lester, Samantha Consiglio, Solveig Rodlund and Thomas Miller were appointed as on-campus senators.

Josh Holness, Benjamin Johnson, Sydney McGuine, Yajaira Ramierza, Breanna Renslo, Sahana Suresh and Meghan Wiercinski were appointed as off-campus senators.

Gaitan said the UW-Eau Claire Student Advocates for Sexual Assault Survivors will be putting on a “What You Were Wearing” exhibit from 5:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m. on Wednesday in room 2904 of Centennial Hall.

Moua said the Hmonger Games, an event to celebrate Hmong Heritage month, will be on May 15.

The senate adjourned at 10:46 p.m. and will reconvene for the first meeting of the 66th session at 6:00 p.m. on Monday, May 2 in the Dakota Ballroom.

Kasper can be reached at [email protected]