Student Senate elects three senators to represent various organizations on campus

Senate elects new senators, passes two resolutions in 27-0-2 vote

More stories from Taylor Hagmann


Photo by Sam Farley

The newly elected members of the 63rd Session were sworn in during an April meeting last spring.

Three student senators were elected to new positions on Monday during the Student Senate general meeting.

Alyssa Pake, a fourth-year organizational communications student, applied for and was elected as the Communication Commision Director.

Travis DuChene, a third-year broad field social studies education student with an emphasis in history and political science, was elected as the Academic Affairs Director.

Finally, Justin Schilling, a second-year broadfield social studies student with an emphasis in history, was elected as the Chief of Staff.

All offices were previously vacant, according to both Pake and Schilling. Until tonight, the duties of all the offices had been performed by various members of Senate, including Ziebell, the vice president, Schilling said.

As Communication Commision Director, Pake will be “vital to keeping the Student Senate in touch with the student body at large,” according to the UW-Eau Claire website.

DuChene, the new Academic Affairs Director, said in his speech to Senate before the vote that one of his goals is to look into adding American Sign Language as a new minor, including adding new professors if need be.

Schilling said as new Chief of Staff, he will take over duties such as overseeing the budget for multiple student-led organizations as well as taking attendance and minutes at Senate meetings, among other various duties.

Senate also voted in favor of reinstating a memorial for the shootings in 1970, which happened in response to extending the Vietnam War.

Jackie Buttafuoco presented the resolution, titled “In Support of an Augusta, Jackson State, Kent State Memorial,” although Senators Austin Gulbrandson and DuChene also were involved in the project, Lauren Becker, the director of The Student Office of Sustainability said in an email.

They also passed a resolution to support Latinx Heritage Month. Both passed 27-0-2.

Hagmann can be reached at [email protected].