Blugold swim unable to propel past Whitewater

Men and women’s swim teams narrowly loses versus UW-Whitewater despite five first place finishes for both teams


Photo by Anna Mateffy

Story by Words by Ellis Williams and Photos by Anna Mateffy

The UW-Eau Claire men’s swim team hosted UW-Whitewater Saturday afternoon and lost a close match with a score of 139-123.

Five Blugold swimmers came away with first place victories versus the Warhawks. Sophomore Ryan Young won the 200-yard butterfly with a time of 2:00.73.

Senior Jake McDade took home first in both the 1000-yard freestyle and the 500-yard freestyle.

Freshman Dayton Miller competed in the 200-yard freestyle and won the event with a time of 1:50.37. The newcomer also finished in first in the 200-yard breaststroke.

Joining Miller in the winners lane was sophomore Thomas Hensen as he finished first in the 200-yard individual medley, and Ben Fisher won the 50-yard freestyle with a time of 22.28 seconds.

The women also had five swimmers finish in first. Junior Allie Hable won the 50-yard freestyle with a time of 24.81 seconds.

Senior Lisa Reed finished first in the 500-yard freestyle and in the 200-yard freestyle, while Rachel Travers won the 100-yard backstroke.

Sophomore Elissa Hermsen took first in the 100-yard butterfly.

The Blugolds are in action again at 6 p.m. Friday at the Minnesota Challenge.