Senators’ vote supports this year’s differential tuition plan

Story by The Spectator staff

Student Senate voted Monday in favor of a resolution supporting proposed differential tuition awards for the 2010-2011 fiscal year.

Student Senate Academic Affairs Director Adam Sorelle introduced the resolution during last week’s meeting. Differential tuition awards are decided by the Provost’s office, and “supports the role of students in the Differential Tuition process,” according to the resolution.

For the 2010-11 fiscal year, the differential tuition proposed a spending plan for programs including faculty-student collaborative research, First Year Experience and other innovative projects.

In the innovative projects section, the TIES Argentina program and the Intercultural Domestic Immersion experiences would be able to be funded fully by differential tuition.

Additionally, Chancellor Brian Levin-Stankevich and Provost Pat Kleine answered questions regarding the Blugold Commitment during the meeting.

On Monday, Student Senate is scheduled to vote on a resolution in support of the Blugold Commitment, which would increase tuition $1,500, phased in over four years. Students received a survey regarding the issue Tuesday morning. The survey will close tonight at 11:59 p.m.

Upcoming Student Senate Meeting
Time: 5:30 p.m.
Date: Monday, Dec. 7
Place: Tamarack Room, Davies Center