Bill to adjust distribution of Blugold Commitment grants introduced to Student Senate

The proposed adjustments are in light of the Barron County campus induction

More stories from Rachyl Houterman


Photo by Kar Wei Cheng

The Academic Affairs Commission introduced a bill about Blugold Commitment Differential Tuition that will be voted on next week.

The Academic Affairs Commission Director David Miller introduced a bill Monday to Student Senate to adjust the distribution of Blugold Commitment Differential Tuition grants.

Beginning in 2010, BCDT increased undergraduate tuition by $1,200 in $300 increments over four years. The fourth phase — the last $300 — has yet to be implemented since Gov. Scott Walker froze undergraduate tuition in 2013.

BCDT is a student-led investment that provides students with high-impact opportunities, both in and outside of the classroom. It amounts to about $10 million, Miller said. Nearly 40 percent of the money is awarded to qualifying students as financial aid.

“In essence, the Blugold Commitment Differential Tuition is something that is very unique to our campus,” Student Body President Branden Yates said.

When BCDT was implemented, the UW-Eau Claire had not yet joined with UW-Barron County. After the UW restructuring, Barron County campus was inducted to become UW-Eau Claire — Barron County.

The proposed bill intends to maintain BCDT specific to the Eau Claire campus. Students at the Barron County campus don’t pay into the Blugold Commitment Differential Tuition fund, and doing so would negatively impact affordability.

Miller said the proposed adjustment would ensure that those eligible to receive BCDT grants are primarily students attending the Eau Claire campus.

The bill will be voted on next week.

Houterman can be reached at [email protected].